Hello, my name is __________.

Hello, my name is __________.

By Nova Patch (‎patch‎) from NY.pm, bicycle.pm
Date: Wednesday, 10 June 2015 10:00
Duration: 50 minutes
Target audience: Any
Language: English
Tags: i18n identity l10n perl qa security unicode ux

You can find more information on the speaker's site:


Our personal identity is core to how we perceive ourselves and wish to be seen. All too often, however, applications, databases, and user interfaces are not designed to fully support the diversity of personal and social identities expressed throughout the world. This talk will demonstrate ways to build applications that respect users’ identities instead of limiting them.

Topics will include:
◦ Input, validation, storage, and display of personal names
◦ Unicode usernames and solutions to security concerns
◦ Internationalization and localization considerations

The intended audience includes programmers, UX designers, and QA testers. Together we can build inclusive software that supports diverse identities.


Attended by: Nova Patch (‎patch‎), Henry Van Styn (‎vanstyn‎), Graham Ollis (‎plicease‎), Sandy Patch, Curtis Jewell (‎CSJewell‎), Derek Clifford, Garth Hill, Stevan Little (‎stevan‎), John Karr, Beth Rhinelander, Jordan Adler (‎jmadler‎), Kent Schaeffer, Thomas Sibley (‎trs‎), James Morgan (‎Ven'Tatsu‎), Wallace Reis (‎wreis‎), Jan Peterson (‎jlp‎), David Oswald (‎davido‎), Robert Threet (‎RAT‎), Thomas Stanton (‎tstanton‎), Joelle Maslak, Mickey Nasriachi (‎Mickey‎), Jason McIntosh (‎jmac‎), Kyle Siemer (‎silvanus‎), Chas. Owens (‎cowens‎), Adam Rich, David Golden (‎xdg‎), D Ruth Bavousett (‎druthb‎), Tim Howe (‎thowe‎), Adam Schobelock, Paul Millard, Armin Resch, Aran Deltac (‎bluefeet‎), Maxwell Cabral, Chad Granum (‎Exodist‎), Steve Nolte (‎mcsnolte‎), Daina Pettit, Justin Wheeler (‎dnm‎), Dan Muey, Sean Quinlan (‎spq_easy‎), Michael LaGrasta, Mark Wells, Stephen Scaffidi (‎hercynium‎), Mike Greb (‎mikegrb‎), Drew Taylor (‎drewbie‎), Louis Erickson, Ryan Olson (‎Gimpson‎), Jay Hannah (‎jhannah‎), William Souder (‎dogrr‎), Brad Oaks (‎bradoaks‎), Michael Hamlin (‎myrrhlin‎),