The Dark Art of Boatbuilding and Project Management

The Dark Art of Boatbuilding and Project Management

By Art Eaton
Date: Tuesday, 21 June 2016 16:40
Duration: 75 minutes
Target audience: Any
Language:


Taken from the viewpoint that all efficient industrial processes are identical at their core, Art Eaton examines the IT industry from a boat builder's point of view.

Take a trip around the boatyard as we explore the following topics:

* Self Identification in Organizational Structure
* Coupling Authority with Responsibility
* Establishing and maintaining collaborative relationships with customers
* Analyzing project specifications and goals
* Delivery of products
* Preparing for the next job.

This talk is all about running a successful, professional and happy boatyard where people find value and comfort in their jobs, the quality of work is high, and customers know what they are getting for their money.

...sort of. Art will be applying his business experience gained his marine engineering, medical, military and IT background to present you with sea-story about project management that people in all industries can identify with.


Attended by: Robert Threet (‎RAT‎), Tom Browder (‎tbrowder‎), James Lenz (‎Jim‎), David H. Adler (‎dha‎), Damian Conway (‎damian‎), James E Keenan (‎kid51‎), Lee Johnson, Robert Blackwell (‎rblackwe‎), gary, Mike Weisenborn, Steve Nolte (‎mcsnolte‎), Tushar Dave, Beth Rhinelander, Ruben Amortegui, Jason Crome (‎CromeDome‎), Matt Creenan, Michael LaGrasta, Alexander Vipach, Victor Stevko, Michael South (‎msouth‎), Rish, Ross Steiner (‎rdsteiner‎), Jeff Till, Adam Boyers, Thomas Glase, Mickey Nasriachi (‎Mickey‎), Eric Ellis (‎jellisii‎), Jed Cunningham, D Ruth Bavousett (‎druthb‎), Matthew Horsfall (‎alh‎), Deven Corzine (‎deven‎), Aaron Nelson, Greg Cole (‎wingfold‎), Aran Deltac (‎bluefeet‎), Nicolas Rochelemagne (‎atoomic‎), Dylan Hardison (‎dylan‎), Henry Van Styn (‎vanstyn‎), Leonard Harris, Cody Brown (‎cbrown‎), Gonzalo Diethelm (‎gonzo‎), Douglas Schrag (‎dmaestro‎), Mark Gardner (‎mjgardner‎), Chip Salzenberg (‎Chip‎), Brad Lhotsky, Adam Engle, Brent Laabs (‎labster‎), Buddy Burden (‎barefootcoder‎), Nathan Dyck, Stevan Little (‎stevan‎), Lindsey Bavousett (‎Spyder‎), Rob Schaber, John Anderson (‎genehack‎), Randal Schwartz (‎merlyn‎), Scott Duff (‎perlpilot‎), Kivanc Yazan, Doug Bell (‎preaction‎), Jon Gentle (‎atrodo‎), Julian Brown, Aaron Staves (‎astaves‎), Michael Hamlin (‎myrrhlin‎), Russ Brewer (‎Russ‎), Walt Mankowski (‎waltman‎), Tom Green (‎Tom‎), Brad Oaks (‎bradoaks‎), Thomas Stanton (‎tstanton‎), Bruce Gray (‎Util‎), Miller Hall, J. Maslak, Jim Toth, Rob N ★ (‎robn‎), Brett Estrade (‎estrabd‎), R Geoffrey Avery (‎rGeoffrey‎), David Hand (‎Ptolemarch‎), Ricardo Signes (‎rjbs‎),