Git is Easy

Git is Easy

By Ricardo Signes (‎rjbs‎) from PHL.pm
Date: Monday, June 22, 2009 01:55 PM
Duration: 50 minutes
Target audience: Beginner
Language:
Tags: git tutorial


This has been a good year for Git. More and more open source projects -- including perl5 and rakudo perl6 -- are moving their source code to Git repositories, and "patches welcome" is slowly being replaced with "tell me where to pull from."

There's been some loose talk suggesting that Git is highly complex and has a bizarre interface that makes it difficult to learn. This is completely and entirely false, mostly.

This talk will explain how to get started with git, how it works, and how to think about git in order to really know what you're doing.


Attended by: Chris Nehren (‎apeiron‎), Jesse Luehrs (‎doy‎), David Moreno (‎damog‎), Brandon Wigfield, Adam Prime (‎jsut‎), Craig Pluchinsky, Jesse Vincent, Douglas Sims, Kenneth Graves (‎kag‎), Jonathan Swartz, Chris Prather (‎perigrin‎), Ricardo Signes (‎rjbs‎), Dan Magnuszewski (‎magnachef‎), Arthur Schmidt (‎fREW‎), Andrew Rodland (‎hobbs‎), Greg Foster, Shawn Moore (‎sartak‎), Jason May (‎jasonmay‎), Michael Canzoneri (‎mikecanz‎), Robert Buels (‎rbuels‎), Nicholas Perez (‎nperez‎), Jessica Pavlin, Stevan Little (‎stevan‎), Tatsuhiko Miyagawa (‎miyagawa‎), Joe Cooper (‎swelljoe‎), Michael Peters (‎mpeters‎), Timothy Appnel (‎tima‎), David H. Adler (‎dha‎), Brad Lhotsky, Olaf Alders (‎oalders‎), Erik Sturcke, John Anderson (‎genehack‎), Darian Patrick (‎dapatrick‎), Adam Russell, brian janaszek, Walt Mankowski (‎waltman‎), Hari Ravella, Mark Jubenville (‎ioncache‎), Zak Zebrowski, Marco Antonio Manzo (‎amnesiac‎), Christopher Nielsen (‎sparc‎), Andrew Walker (‎Andy‎), Todd McDowell, Adam Foxson (‎Fhoxh‎), Michael Graham (‎magog‎), sungo, Joakim Lagerqvist, G. Wade Johnson (‎gwadej‎), Christopher Madsen (‎cjm‎), Barbie, chris becker, Jason Switzer (‎s1n‎), Nick, Geoffrey Darling (‎Geoff‎), Nathaniel Smith (‎Nate‎), splitbit, Greg Alheid, Kevin Falcone (‎jibsheet‎), Michael Aquilina (‎aquilina‎), Packy Anderson, James Mastros (‎theorbtwo‎), J. Nick Koston (‎bdraco‎), michael shomsky, Jess Robinson (‎castaway‎), Paul Makepeace (‎paulm‎), Terry Bates, Brad Oaks (‎bradoaks‎), Trey Harris,