Movable Type Open Source (MTOS): The Perl Publishing System The Community Forgot

Movable Type Open Source (MTOS): The Perl Publishing System The Community Forgot

By Timothy Appnel (‎tima‎)
Date: Tuesday, June 23, 2009 04:40 PM
Duration: 20 minutes
Target audience: Any
Tags: action blogging call cpan gpl media movable mt open publishing social source to type

Movable Type began life as nearly 8 years ago as a tool for enthusiasts and Blogger refugees that grew rapidly over the years to power millions of blogs of ever shape and form. Like it or not, MT is one of the most widely-deployed and well-known pieces of Perl software in existence and is an untapped resource to the Perl community with its GPL license.

Despite being maligned for its commercial background and startup missteps, there is value in the GPL'ed code and opportunity for the Perl community to demonstrate that Perl is not a dying language and can be very useful to every day users.

As a long-time veteran of MT and Perl development who is not afraid to speak his mind, Tim will provide his unique perspective on this topic.

* MT Over Time -- from the beginnning to present day
* Architectural Makeup -- what can it do and how
* How MTOS benefits from CPAN & how CPAN can benefit from MTOS
* MTOS Roadmap, Current Activity & Getting Involved

The presentation will concluded with Tim fielding questions, feedback and leading a discussion from the audience.

Attended by: Tatsuhiko Miyagawa (‎miyagawa‎), Brandon Wigfield, Adam Prime (‎jsut‎), Lee Aylward (‎leedo‎), Craig Pluchinsky, Kenneth Graves (‎kag‎), Chris Prather (‎perigrin‎), David Moreno (‎damog‎), Mark Stosberg, Timothy Appnel (‎tima‎), Jeremy Fluhmann (‎jfluhmann‎), David H. Adler (‎dha‎), Brad Lhotsky, Joshua Gatcomb, Jesse Vincent, Darian Patrick (‎dapatrick‎), Todd Presta, Robert Boone (‎rlb3‎), Christopher Nielsen (‎sparc‎), Nathaniel Smith (‎Nate‎), Barbie, Jason Crome (‎CromeDome‎), Jaldhar Vyas (‎jaldhar‎), Adri Mills, G. Wade Johnson (‎gwadej‎), Victor Stevko, Chris Muench (‎blasto333‎), John Anderson (‎genehack‎), Michael Aquilina (‎aquilina‎), Doug Bell (‎preaction‎), James E Keenan (‎kid51‎), J. Nick Koston (‎bdraco‎), Mark Jensen, Brad Cavanagh (‎CanSpice‎), Terry Bates,